You have to love a Lomo app

There’s a sentence I never thought I’d write.

Isn’t it funny how language changes so fast?  It’s probably not even two years ago when I didn’t even know what an ‘app’ was and now it’s in my every day speech.

What’s that you’re saying?  Never mind the app?  What’s a lomo?

Well, dear reader, I’m glad you asked that. A lomo is a type of cheap, plastic, Russian camera that let’s in light and gives totally unpredictable results. If you’re a camera technician, you’ll hate it. If, like me, you like things to be a bit unpredictable then you’ll love it. If you want to know more about lomo cameras then click here.

Anyway, last week I bought the lomo app for my iphone and I LOVE IT!!!   Now of course it makes me want a real lomo camera even more.

Here are a few pics from mine and poochies very soggy walk this afternoon.

Darwen Moors
Fence and view across Darwen

The picture above was taken without using the lomo effect.

Fence with lomo

And this one with it.

Darwen Tower
Darwen

Ok, you couldn’t shoot a whole wedding with a lomo camera *thinks*….or maybe you could……..nah, I’d never get away with it.  But it did cross my mind that I could do a whole project on ‘Darwen through a lomo lens’  That’d be great!! I’ve been lacking some artistic focus lately.  What a brilliant way to kick start my creative juices again.  Oooohh, I’m excited now!!!  of course I’ll have to get a proper lomo. not just use the app. But why? Using the app alone would be a good project.  Andy Warhol  did a whole series of photos in photo booths. In isolation they were crap (did I say that out loud?) but as a whole series it became really interesting.

Sounds like the start of a project!!!

These three below are just normal photos from our walk. It started to rain about two minutes after we set off, lashed it down for an hour and then we dried off for the last half an hour. By the time we got back to the car the sun was shining again.

Distant darwen Tower
Stormy Weather
soggy doggy
Leave a Reply

