Here, there and everywhere

Boofuls and me have been all over the place this weekend. Now we are back home and recovering from our travels – and what interesting travels they’ve been. let me tell you all about it.

Some friends of ours (yes indeedy, we do in fact have friends!!) have two daughters, both of which are getting married within six weeks of each other. Since we know a little bit about wedding photography they booked us to shoot both weddings. Yay!!

Wedding number one was yesterday – in Herefordshire, not in Shropshire as I’ve  been going round telling everyone. It’s the first time I’ve ever shot a wedding, other then when I worked freelance, when I’ve not even met the bride and groom beforehand. I only spoke to the bride for the first time on Thursday so we had no idea about personalities or preferences or anything but hey ho – it makes life interesting.

The brides parents paid for us to stay in a B&B the night before the wedding, and in fact offered us two nights but we didn’t think that was necessary. That turned out to be a very good call as it turned out.

We arrived tired and frazzled after a long, slow and arduous journey. Note to self: Avoid motorways on Friday afternoons at all costs.  The B&B was in a farmhouse in the middle of the Herefordshire countryside and was very picturesque. The sign that said, ‘beware of falling slates,’ was a bit of a surprise and gave us a small inkling of things to come.

The front door, which was ajar at the time, had a huge fish shaped brass knocker on it which gave a satisfyingly loud thud when I rapped it gently against the door.  After a wait of a couple of minutes, I tried it again only this time I put plenty of force behind it. Still nothing although I could hear voices from inside.

“Hello? Hello? Hellll-oooo-oh? Still nothing. Boofuls tried to phone. No signal. By this time a light rain had begun to fall and we were getting more than a little fed up.

Once again I lifted the  fish and this time whacked it  soundly against the door. ‘Boom, boom, boom.’  ‘Ha, that should do it.’  Eventually we could hear shuffling and the door was opened by a couple with a combined age of about 500 who stared at us as if we were about to rob them of their life savings.

‘Time for a bright smile and introduction before they have a heart attack,’ I thought. “Hello, I think you’re expecting us…”.

Comprehension dawned on their little faces and they invited us in, offering to carry our heavy camera bags, an offer I quickly declined as they looked like they had enough trouble carrying themselves.

Stepping into the house was like stepping back  about 100 years. Beams, rugs, dressers and clutter were everywhere we looked. As we were shown to our room I noticed that there didn’t seem to be a straight wall in the entire place. We ascended the staircase,’creak, creak, creak,’ went the stairs as they registered their discontent at being disturbed. At least I think it was the stairs, it might have been our host’s bones.  Eventually we made it to our room. Booful’s face when he noticed the single beds and the candlewick bedspreads was an absolute picture, I struggled not to laugh at his horrified face.  I think he might have had plans that didn’t included creaking floors and single beds. He was well and truly thwarted in his plan.  Hhhhmmpphhhh. Well at least he got a thwart out of it – it’s more than I got!!

We were shown the bathroom, which at some point had clearly been a cupboard, with instructions not to leave the window open when the lights were on or the bats would come in. Fabulous.  Our next instructions were to lock our belongings in the locking wardrobe and take the key out with us. I felt there was absolutely no danger of her or anyone else half inching our kit but obliged her anyway as it was clearly an issue.  I don’t know why because the cupboard opened just as easily whether it was locked or not.

Hopefully all this doesn’t sound like we hated the place because it  and our hosts were  actually very lovely and characterful, oh yes –  character in spades, more character than you could shake a stick at.  Not at all the kind of place we would have chosen ourselves but characterful.  Here are a few photos to give you the idea if you haven’t got it already,  that it had character.

single beds and candlewick
beams

The doors on the left with the bright light behind is the cupboard  bathroom.  I’m not saying it was small but at 5′ 3″ I consider myself to be quite petite. If I can’t stand upright in the shower then it’s small!

Sweet Peas

I really loved the little glass with sweet peas which had been placed on the dressing table. How thoughtful, I love sweet peas.

Farmhouse
Hollyhocks

I haven’t seen hollyhocks like this since we were last in Talmont, France. Actually, quite a lot of the area reminded me of France, no wonder we liked it.

Milk Churn

There is loads more to tell you, including the tale of the silver driver on the M6, but I have to back up all the photos from the wedding now they’ve finished downloading.  Back soon.


Leave a Reply

