St Lucia

Right up to the very last minute the pot filling job dominated our lives.  On the day we were setting off on holiday I’d planned a nice morning coffee with C followed by a leisurely lunch and packing before setting off to our overnight hotel in Gatwick.  Sounds like a plan, eh?

Making the mistake of popping in to the factory to see how things were going I was met by a stressed to the point of panic, Paul.  “You’re going on your holiday so I can’t ask you to help……” the sentence tailed off while he looked at me  with a hopeful, puppy dog  look in his eye.

Well, who can resist that?  It was off with my jumper and on with a set of coveralls which I soon realised were completely see through. As I ran through the office to find myself a white coat  to put over them I heard a horrified voice behind me say, “Oh my God, is my mother topless?”  The coveralls (which obviously didn’t)  were swiftly topped by a white coat.  the next two hours were spent on a filling machine.  I scared the Polish staff half to death with my battle cry of, “the louder you scream, the faster we goooooooo” folowed by a loud scream from both me and Paul as I turned the machine up as far as possible.

What? Have they not got fairgrounds in poland?  We all understood it.

Boofuls and me eventually set off for Gatwick about 4.30 and arrived 5 hours later, exhausted.

The next morning was a fairly early start, we jumped on the shuttle bus to the airport. Boofuls managed to bash himself in the eye with the hand strap and then jerked his head back in surprise only to bash it on a metal rail. Good start.

As for the flight, well, what can I say? What’s not to love about British Airways? It was like a pj day in the sky. Tucked up in a nice, fleecy blanket  and wearing warm, fluffy socks watching Alice in Wonderland, chosen from the huge film library. Food and drink were brought to me at regular intervals by friendly and cheerful stewards.  Mind you, when I say lovely food it does rather depend on your definition of lovely.  While I tucked into bulgar wheat salad followed by thai green curry, Boofuls looked longingly at my bread roll and strawberry cheesecake while he pushed his food round his plate. I did take pity on him and let him have them.

I got the window seat so here’s the view:

above the clouds

I was  amused by the HUGE black man sat in front of us on the plane. he kept his sunglasses on for the duration of the flight. What with that and his numerous gold chains, it looked like Stevie Wonder was sat in front of us. I kept waiting for him to start singing – he didn’t oblige though.

During the bumpy approach to St Lucia we were informed that there were storms. Storms? I can have storms at home, thank you. I’ll have sunshine thanks.  It seems that they’d caught the tail end of a tropical storm and it had been raining steadily and heavily for a couple of days before we arrived. It cleared up nicely for us though and the sun shone like a shining thing.

Our welcome at the hotel made all the travelling worth it. I struggled to wipe the stupid grin off my face as the welcome was amazing – and so was the rum punch we were welcomed with!

This is the room and the view from our balcony. Not bad, eh?  I could feel the stress of the last few weeks melting away by the minute. I took a few photos from the balcony – what a lazy photographer!

flowery bed
caribbean sea

It was a strange thing about that first few days, I could track how we were starting to relax by our attitude toward things.

Day one: Travel weary, too tired to care

day two: Bored from suddenly having NOTHING to do  after going like a steam train for weeks and a bit picky with each other.

Day three: Stress gone but knackered.

Day four: Aaaaaaahhhhhhhh, this is the life.

Days 5/6/7   We’re in paradise.

We watched the coconut whacking with great amusement. A man ran up a tree with a machete, whacked a few coconuts and branches to the ground and then ran down it again. For a few minutes coconuts rained down like giant raindrops. Amazing!  To be honest it was better entertainment than the hotel provided – that was dire. After forcing ourselves to stay awake to watch the steel band we went to bed two minutes after they started playing. My ears hurt!!

let's climb a tree and whack a coconut!
Running up the tree

Strangely enough Mr Snory didn’t snore at all while we were there, mind you, the bed was so huge that he could have been playing a one man band  and I wouldn’t have known about it. He was practically a speck on the horizon, it was so enormous. I could get used to that.

Funny thing about our resort was that it was a wedding venue. Whole families with three or even four generations turning up to witness the nuptials of their family member. Strangely though, these whole families kept very much to themselves, it was almost as if they thought that by speaking to people outside of their group it would let in the real world and  break the illusion of them having their own private tropical paradise wedding. It made for a very insular resort in some ways. it had an atmosphere the like of which we have never come across before.  Smiles were usually returned by a stony stare from the whole group. As if they felt we were trying to gatecrash their party. Very odd.

It didn’t bother us though, we  settled down to a routine of just being happy to be.

yet another photo from our balcony
shopping centre

I loved the new shopping centre. Don’t you just love the bright colours? Loads better than our grey shopping centres and towns. It makes you happy just being there.

Leave a Reply

