No Dancing Thursday *sob*

Out teacher cancelled our dance lesson yesterday, in fairness he did have a damn good reason.  Sigh. Thursday mornings just aren’t the same when I don’t have to get up before the crack of dawn, run round like a mad bint to get organised and then fight my way through rush hour traffic just for an hour of fun, laughter and whatever dance we happen to be practicing.

At the moment it’s cha cha cha and we’re brushing up on a few nifty waltz moves.

So. What’s the plan for this morning then?

Well, after a heavy day on the computer yesterday catching up on some album design work, my hand is a bit painful again ( much better than it has been – thanks for asking) so I’m taking it a bit easier today.

Errand time this morning.

A trip to the bank followed by a trip to my favourite budget supermarket followed by coffee with Lashes and Baby Bunting ( I haven’t filled them in on that bit yet).  I’ve decided that Baby Bunting isn’t so much a baby now, quite the opposite in fact, she’s a confident, mischievous , very vocal little monkey. So that’s what I’ll call her, Munki.

As you know, Lashes has her lesson after me and Boofuls while I look after Munki. John the teacher, asked me if I’d find out the train timetable from Preston to Euston on Sunday night. “Of course, John, that won’t take more than a couple of minutes.”

Ha! How wrong can you be?

We went into the vestry (we dance in a church hall) so that we wouldn’t be disturbed by the music.  Eventually I found the number, dialled and waited for a person to speak on the other end of the line.

It turned out to be a voice activated recorded message.

“Say where you’d like to depart from. Speak clearly and slowly”

Have you ever used a voice activated menu? It’s almost impossible to speak in a normal voice.  I boomed: “PRESTON.”

At which point Munki’s ears pricked up and she obviously thought this could be time for a bit of fun.

“PRESTON NANNY? YOU A PRESTON! NANNY! NANNY! PRESTON NANNY.”

“Ssshhhh”  Said I.

“I’m sorry, I didn’t quite catch that” said the recorded voice, ” Did you say Weston Super-mare? Please say the name of the station from which you’d like to depart.”

Just as I was about to speak again, Munki decided to pull the table cloth, sending books scattering round the roon.

“Don’t do that!”

“I’m sorry, I didn’t quite catch that. Did you say Doncaster?”

Me; “Aaaarrrrrgghhhh.”

I’m sorry, I didn’t quite catch that. Did you say Abingdon?”

Eventually, even the machine gave up trying and put us back to the main menu to wait for an advisor. Even that didn’t work as Munki interrupted the machine as it was telling me and it clearly doesn’t like to be interrupted so it cut me off!

After four attempts to made this damn phone call I eventually gave in and admitted defeat.

Our little Munki has been practising her newly found language skills a lot recently, it’s also very clear she has been reading a lot of simple, repetitive  books with Lashes.  At the moment she sounds a bit like a ‘Teach Yourself a Foreign Language’ lesson.

Conversations go a little like this:

“Would you like an apple?”

“Yes, I would like an apple.”

“Would you like a green apple?”

‘Yes, I would like a green apple. I like green apples.”

“Shall we go for a walk?”

“Yes. I would like to go for a walk.’

etc.etc.etc.

That Mr Tumble has a lot to answer for as well.  She refers to him in a lovely RP accent as ‘Mr Tamble’  What with that and ‘sandcarstle’ she speaks beautifully.  It won’t last long, as soon as she gets to school soon she’ll have that knocked out of her, just like her Mum and her uncles did.

Leave a Reply

