How to confuse a baby

Finally Boofuls and me got round to getting some hands free sets for the car so we can legally use the phone while driving.

Of course, once we have decided to join everyone else in the 21st century we did it properly and got some nice bluetooth sets. The ..er…….jobbie, sits on the sun visor so no need for silly earpieces as sported by tosspot men all over the country who think it makes them look important.

Not that I look a tosspot pulling myself up on the steering wheel to gain a few inches and get close enough to the microphone that the people I’m talking to can actually hear me. It’s no fun being as short as a munchkin. I could really do with a booster seat.

Setting it all up was good fun. “Let’s try the voice control.” I said. Dear God, The bugger rings anyone it feels like no matter what you say. Trying several times to phone Lashes as a test call the phone rang instead: Len’s Mum, a tutor from college and the local oil company, among others. I gave up after that. How the the phone can think ‘Lashes’ sounds like “Fuel Oils R Us’ is beyond me. I’ll give that bit a miss, it’s way too stressful.

One day last week I had occasion to take Munki to nursery. On the way there Gembolina phoned me. The bluetooth set duly turned off the music, which was a bit of a blessing anyway as we were listening to kids music and my ears were beginning to bleed. The bluetooth bleeped, I took the call and Gem and me chatted away for a couple of minutes.

Happening to glance at Munki, the look of pure puzzlement on her face made me laugh out loud, or ‘lol’ as popular culture would have it. It was priceless, her little brow was all furrowed. Having a conversation in the car with an invisible person? Who……..? What…………? How……….? Uh…………..?

I could see her brain working overtime trying to work it all out. It was priceless, kept me ‘lolling’ all day.

Have any of you seen the Activia advert (I’m really talking to Brits, now) with that bird on it? I think she’s called Martine McCutcheon. Did she used to be in Eastenders or something?

I used to think that she was quite a pretty girl but in this latest advert I can’t take my eyes of her teeth. She’s obviously had them whitened to within an inch of their lives and she’s obviously wanting to show them off. I’m not surprised, it probably cost her an arm and a leg, I’d want to be showing them off as well but flippin’ ‘eck!

If I didn’t know from previous adverts that it was yoghurt she was promoting I’d have no idea what she was selling because I’m transfixed by these bloody teeth.

All I can see is this bird smiling a very odd, ‘lips drawn back too far to show of her unnaturally white and huge set of gnashers,’ smile. I know the old show biz adage is to show off: ‘teeth and tits,’ but crikey.

Seriously, watch it, you’ll see what I mean. Put me right off my yoghurt it did.

4 thoughts on “How to confuse a baby”

  1. Just seen the Activia advert and thought of you. The yoghurts are nice though. I bet her teeth would look worse if she ate them all of the time!

Leave a Reply

