It’s been a toughie today

Today was the funeral of bezzie mate’s Dad.

A man I’ve known since I was knee high to a grasshopper. As a child I always used to wish he was my Dad.

To be honest I always used to wish that their family was my family – for many a reason I don’t wish to discuss on here,  and to a large extent they have become my family over the years.

Bezzie mate is as close as a sister and I love her as a sister (not as a life partner as they thought when we went to Weight Watchers together a few years ago!! That caused much hilarity and we played it up no end.).

We have laughed, cried, argued, made up, attended each other’s weddings, had children and watched our children all grow up and have children of their own.

It’s so hard after going through all that to watch my best friend grieve and know that there is nothing I can do to help her.

I’m in severe danger of getting maudlin so I’ll leave it  here by saying;

Rest in Peace, Alan. We’ll miss you.

 

2 thoughts on “It’s been a toughie today”

Leave a Reply

