Tuesday night dinner

Out shopping with Munki the other day I was distracted by the huge display of fruit and veg on display when suddenly I heard a crunch, swiftly followed by another one.

“What the…..” my attention was swiftly turned back to the child in my care who I discovered was happily munching on a red pepper she’d lifted off a shelf. “Oh my Gawd. I haven’t paid for that.  I hope they sell them by the unit and not by weight, you little monkey, Munki.”

“It’s nice Nanny. Do you want some?” She slobbered as she took yet another whacking great chunk out of and then waved her stolen goods vaguely in the direction of my nose.

“No thank you. Let’s get this stuff paid for, shall we?”

Shopping duly paid for we set off home and everything was put away.

I forgot all about the red pepper incident until  I came to use it.

Holey Red Pepper

We decided not to bother with it in the end.  It was the thought of all that slobber, even though I’d given it a good wash before putting it away. For the same meal I decided to make some bread. It turned out to be a loaf with character:

Sunken bread

And to think I used to work in a bakery. The shame (mind you, it was 30 years ago).  It tasted ok though so it soon got polished off.

Some friends we haven’t seen for ages came for dinner last night.  These are our genteel friends.  He’s a magistrate and I’m not saying he takes it Very Seriously or anything but I think he’s planning to get couple of columns with stone balls on top to put outside his house. She’s a banker and  an ingenue through and through. So feminine, delicate and ever so  ‘just so’.

I don’t know why they bother with us, we’re anything but genteel. I think they must come to see how the hillbillies live.  It was lovely to see them  and catch up – and get  some intelligent conversation for a change.  I can’t keep it up for long though, the real me soon breaks through and it all goes downhill.

We didn’t get off to the best start when I opened a bottle of rose wine and it was like vinegar. My friend sipped it politely and would have continued to had I not declared it vile and binned it. The look of relief on her face was clearly evident. Bless her, she’s so polite.

The food was ok, nothing amazing.  Mr Sainsbury provided a 3 bean soup which I modified to make it look homemade. I served it with  herb bread that didn’t collapse in a heap when I took it out of the bread maker.  That was followed by chicken in a  cream and leek sauce and then  home made apple pie and custard (obligatory for Boofuls), ice cream or cream.

Three courses on a Tuesday?! They were honoured!

Right, it’s time to go and get on with the day. I’ve got loads to do and not a lot to share with you today so I’d better get moving. TTFN.

May the 4th be with you.

Hahaaaaa!!! I’ve been waiting all year to say that!

Leave a Reply

