Buy! Buy! Buy!

Didn’t get a lot of work done. I had such plans, all of which involved clearing the mountains of work I have to do, none of which came to fruition.

What did we do then that was so important I had to put all my work on the back burner?

Well, me and Boofuls made a  start on getting ourselves kitted out for our Arctic expedition in january.  The local outdoor clothing shop has a monster sale on (so it says on the telly, anyway) and we reckoned that we’d go and have a look because there isn’t likely to be a sale in winter clothes in winter.

Buy! Buy! Buy! While it’s cheap! Cheap! Cheap!

Cheap? Sevenfeckinteen quid for a pair of socks, cheap?

How on earth is it possible to spend the best part of £50 on a few pairs of socks? Feck!

Still, we bought ourselves a discount card for a fiver which meant that we saved £20 on the socks.  It also means that you get super duper card holder offers not available to yer average pleb in the street.  the next super duper deal is on walking boots. Normally £80 a pair they’ll be on offer for £30 next week only for us ‘special’ customers.

I get the feeling they really do think we’re a bit ‘special’.

 

Lashes was in need of some motherly company earlier so we took ourselves off to the farmer’s market at Hoghton for a bit of retail therapy. Lashes is now betrothed to an author who was there doing book signings. Working on the basis that he was talking like he was the next Jk Rowlings (albeit not female) I thought it would be good to stake a claim on him in good time before the millions start to roll in. He seemed happy enough to go along with it all. Mind you she is terribly easy on the eye, Lashes. I’d better get ’em married off before he really gets to know her. Hahaaaaaaaaa!!

 

Today was also a bit of a bake fest.

I started off with the weight watchers cook book, all good intentions,  and then adapted a few recipes. Surely it won’t affect the calorie value of this cake much if I stick in a huge handful of walnuts and dates?  Bloody good cake though. I ended up giving the leftovers to my sister. I’d have scoffed the lot is it had stayed here.

Talking of my sister, she came to visit this afternoon. Unusually for her, not encumbered with kids, kids’ partners, dogs or babies.  That meant we were able to have a lovely long peaceful chat in the garden – in the rain. Ah well, what’s a bit of rain between sisters?

Len and Lashes came up with Munki. So I ended up making afternoon tea for us all. Mind you, I did have a head start with all the baking I did this morning. Lashes didn’t like my flapjacks so I had to knock up a few scones to keep her happy. My kids are sooooo spoilt!

Now, after a 45 minute dance practice in a ridiculously hot church hall I’m sat here chillin’ with a glass of white zinfandel.

Yes. I admit it. I like white zinfandel and I’m not ashamed to say so. It’s almost like admitting that you like Lambrini, isn’t it? Oh well *slurp* just don’t tell anyone that my sophisticated exterior is merely a guise. Underneath it all I’m pure Essex girl.

Leave a Reply

