Get my best side, won’t you?

 

Sunday’s wedding fair was fun. No really, I’m not being sarcastic, it really was fun. Busy, lots going on a and  few old faces to catch up with, it was almost a social experience rather than a work one.  Apart from being put on a table right next to the DJ, that is. As I was trying to talk to the punters I had a speaker blaring out vacuous muzak right next to my ear, causing me to shout and say “What”  and “Sorry, say that again.” a lot.

One chap there, another photographer is a really, really nice chap. His work knocks spots off mine but I’l gloss over that bit.  Standing and chatting with him before the show started we were  watching his slideshow of stunning images,  many with some nifty location lighting tricks. “Sigh, come on Boofuls, we might as well go home,” says I.

“You can do this stuff. Just take your studio expertise and and scale it down” says the photographer, “and if you can’t then go and look at my blog. I’ve put all the details of how to do it on there so you can go and practice it if you need to.”

I was gobsmacked. Since we’re all there chasing the same business the last thing you’d expect him to do is tell me how to make my photos as good as his. He’s obviously a far nicer person than I am, and a very humble and unassuming man to boot. I certainly can learn a lot from him –  in lots of ways.

During another chat, with the organiser this time…….what?  Yes of course I did some actual work. I didn’t just stand around gassing all day. Well, I did but that’s what we were there for. Anyway… as I was saying before I was rudely interrupted. I was chatting with the organiser having watched the catwalk show and realised that some of the models were anything but. In fact some of them looked downright embarrassed.  “Would you consider my daughter, Lashes? She’s tall, slim and gorgeous.”

“Bring her in to the shop, I’ll have a chat with her.”

So, into the shop we went yesterday. The organiser’s eyebrows nearly fell of her face they flew up so high.” Look at those legs! You’re so slim! Try this dress, no one can fit into this one.”  Ziiiiip. Up went the zip, meeting no resistance along it’s journey up the silky fabric. The organiser was almost beside herself with excitement. “You can do all my shows.” Can you work Sunday? Oh my God! Where have you been? I should have been using you for years!”

There was a proper  mutual appreciation fest going on as Lashes tried on dress after dress to squeals of, “Try this, no one can wear this. Oh! It fits you! It looks brilliant on you! Oh my God! Where have you been?” She dashed round the shop finding  ‘impossible to wear dresses’ for Lashes to try on and got more excited by the second when they all worked perfectly. That’s my girl!

Then the organiser let out a loud “OH!” and stood as if in a trance for a few seconds.

Oh! We all stopped and turned to look at her wondering what had just happened. Even Munki stopped running round the large table in the centre of the floor and, just for a few seconds stopped shouting. Blessed silence.

Our enquiring looks drew the organiser out of her daze and she told us what it was that had stopped her in her tracks. She’s opening a new shop soon and want’s a LARGE  image in the window of  a girl holding a bag and the actual bag then on a plinth next to the image. Guess who the girl’s going to be? Guess who the photographer’s going to be?  Oh yes!!!!

Lashes of course is delighted with her new job and I have no doubt she’ll be brilliant at it. Well done Lashes.

Leave a Reply

