Back to normal?

It’s pretty much all over now so it’s time to get myself back on the weightwatchers no points soup and fresh fruit for the foreseeable future. Ah well it was nice while it lasted.

Of course all the countdown to New Year programmes have started I’ve never been the biggest fan of New Year, too many grim childhood memories to make it an enjoyable occasion – but we won’t dwell on that. Christmas has always been the biggest thing for me and I’ve mananged to pass that down onto my family as well.

Talking of family, we all got together for Christmas pie the other night. All the left over turkey as well as a gammon joint and sausages went into a huge pie with a rich bechamel sauce and covered with lovely buttery, shorter than short pastry all made by my own fair hand. I was quite proud of it even if I do say so myself.

Pastry is a funny thing, isn’t it. I find people can either make it well – or they can’t. My Mum made fantastic cakes and was a brilliant coook but turning out a good pastry always eluded her. I can make decent pastry but cakes? Nah.  Usually heavy and flat. I’d rather make a pie any day.

Which are you best at, cake or pastry?

I took a few photos of the table before people arrived:

And after they left:

 

This next one was me after the clean up operation:

It was a brilliant night but I was exhausted after it.

 

The prize for the person with the funniest decorations this year goes to Bezzy Mate:

 

 

4 thoughts on “Back to normal?”

    1. A gammon joint is a ham joint that has been cured like bacon. oooh. Cookies – do you mean squishy cookies or d you mean crisp biscuits? There is truth in the saying,’ two countries divided by a common language’, eh?

  1. Thanks again for the lesson in British English. The gammon joint sounds absolutely delish. It is amazing how it’s the same language, yet so many different terms. As for cookies, I bake squishy cookies like chocolate chip cookies and sugar cookies, but I also make crispy cookies, like shortbread, that are like your biscuits.

Leave a Reply

