Happy New….er….. Easter?

So wnat was the date on thursday? 5th Jan? Silly me thinking I’d lost four months and skipped straight to April. What could possibly have brought about this little brainstorm?

I’ll tell you what, dear reader.

Walking into Sainsbury’s and a wall of delicious, spicy and bready aromas and then being offered a taste of their freshly baked hot cross buns.  Mmmmmm yummy.

Wait! What? Hot cross buns?

Are you mad? I only took my trimmings down yesterday.

Get a grip, Sainsbury’s.

Driving home from there having done my weekly shop, I noticed at the side of the road a small, white, dead ghost.

Aaaahhh, poor little thing, I thought as I drove past. Much later, as I was thoughtfully munching on an apple and reading the next chapter of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, it crossed my mind that it might have been a handkerchief.

 

So! Here I am! Woohoo!  I’m not dead after all!

 

 

I seem to be on the road to recovery from my week of endless cough, cough, coughing and thinking I was going to die because I couldn’t stop coughing long enough to take a breath. Not that I’m inclined to overstatement in any way you understand – as I’ve told Boofuls a thousand times.

So, this cough. I wouldn’t mind so much if I smoked, ate rubbish and didn’t look after myself. The last person succumbing to any kind of lurgy should be me with the amount of vitamins and minerals my body ingests on a daily basis. It’s for those reasons that I don’t succumb to illness with any kind of good grace at all. I don’t do ill.

The whole of yesterday was spent on the sofa while I moaned, groaned and coughed my way through the day, not even wanting to move or go out which is most unlike me. I didn’t even care when Boofuls put some crap film from the sixties on to watch.  He wouldn’t get away with  that very often. Talk about taking advantage of me when I’m ill.

Poor old Boofuls just kept giving me sideways glances and the occasional snigger when every now and then I’d throw in a cou -ACHOOOO-gh.  It was a long day yesterday and I was glad to get back to my bed. I don’t know why – I had the worst night ever.

At stupid o’clock this morning I decided that the only way I was going to stand any chance of getting  any sleep was to sleep sitting up. Having been through that thought process of. ‘It’s sooo warm in here. I don’t wanna get up, I’ll settle in a minute.’ Eventually I decided that trying to sleep lying down was a lost cause as it just made me cough even more and  got up.

Decision made, I got up and  padded round the house sniffling and coughing, the cats obviously thought that I’d got up at that ungodly hour just to spoil them a bit. You know, a spot of early breakfast and a few ankle cuddles while I made myself a drink. WRONG!

The back door was opened and they were unceremoniously shoo’d out with a few choice words of Anglo Saxon thrown in for good measure. I could manage the breakfast and ankle cuddles, it was the yowling that tipped the balance.

Cats duly disposed of, I made myself a nice little nest on the settee. Wrapped myself in a nice fleecy blanket, took yet another dose of cough medicine and waited for Hypnos to come and carry me off to sleep.

And sleep I did.  Feeling loads better now,thanks.

I’m Back!

 

4 thoughts on “Happy New….er….. Easter?”

  1. Sorry to hear you were under the weather, but glad you are feeling better now. I know exactly what you mean about the cats thinking you are awake in the middle of the night to entertain them. When I am sick, I seriously think twice about getting out of bed in the middle of the night because I know my furry nursing staff will want to sit on me or to have me play with them.

    1. Thanks for your kind words, Paprika. Furry nursing staff? I’m the staff in this house. I’ll or not I’m still their devoted servant (mostly).

  2. I am usually their devoted servant, but when I am sick both kitties won’t leave my side. My one cat, Sam,even has a certain meow he makes right after I sneeze or if my asthma kicks in and he hears me wheezing. The poor thing barely gets any sleep during allergy season.

Leave a Reply

