Lovely Spam! Wonderful Spam!

Spam, spam, spam, spam, spam, spam, spam, spam.

So much spam! Where’s it all coming from. I used to go weeks and weeks without getting any spam comments on the blog and now I’m getting enough spam for a Monty Python song. I must admit, some of it is quite entertaining but even I’m at a loss as to way the spammers have suddenly landed on this blog.  Ah well. While I clear up the spam, let’s cheer up our Monday morning with a song about it:

Still on the subject of comments, but not necessarily spam comments. I welcome comments on the blog, it makes me feel like I’m actually interacting with people and not just writing all this stuff down for my own amusement or the amusement of my grandchildren in 20 years time. I’ve been very lucky in that the people who have made comments, thank you all, have made positive, friendly and interesting  comments which have been both encouraging and supportive. Just lately though, I’ve noticed on other peoples’ blogs that some of the comments are critical or even downright nasty. Unless you’re actually asking for a critique of your work, and some of these comments go way beyond a simple critique,  it strikes me as inappropriate in the extreme.

Why would anyone do this?

Because it’s just so easy to be nasty to a faceless person, to vent your own frustrations, be a bully or a smart arse, take the moral high ground or  consider yourself to be superior in some way when the person it’s directed at isn’t in front of you so you can’t see the hurt you’ve caused.

My bridezilla from a few weeks ago (situation resolved, thank you) wrote me the most vicious emails but was as nice as pie when she was in front of me.” Please don’t think I’m a bitch.”

‘Yeah, well I do so sod off” was what went through my mind but what came out of my mouth was some pointless platitude. Not even a bridezilla deserves to be treated badly.

A total stranger put a nasty comment on one of my photos on my Flickr stream. In fairness, his point was valid but the way he voiced it was hurtful and cruel.

Unless you’re a supremely confident person or a professional writer I think it takes a lot of courage to sit down, put fingers to keyboard and publish your thoughts and feelings ( or images) worldwide.

I’m reminds of a blog post I read last year which made me cry. It was a very moving and harrowing account of  aspects of a  lady’s life. She had completely bared her soul to the world. At the top of the post, she had made  a statement apologising in advance for typos and grammatical mistakes but she knew if she read it through she would not have the  fortitude to post it.  Posts like hers are both painful and cathartic to the writer and I believe that they deserve a bit of respect and support not a public shredding.

I’m not saying that you need to agree with everything that you see or that you can’t voice an opinion but please, let’s be nice about it.

Anyway, that’s my two penn’orth,

Leave a Reply

