Happy Valentine’s Day

Happy Valentine’s Day!

I’m just sitting and waiting for the postman to arrive with sackloads of post for me so while I’m waiting I’ll fill you in on some of the weekend’s news.  Are you ready?

The here we go!

Hold on to your hat for the  roller coaster ride that has been the last few days.

The weather decided to spice things up even more by dumping millions of gallons of freezing rain on us over the course of about eight hours.

Our drive looked like peanut brittle, all the gaps between the stones having been filled in with ice and then another nice layer of ice on top for good measure. I saw a 2p coin on the ground and  went to pick it up to discover that it had a 1/2 inch covering of ice over it. There it was glistening,  gently packed in the middle of  it’s own little ice cube.

Source: http://whatscookingamerica.net/Candy/PeanutBrittle.htm

After having watched Boofuls attempt and fail to get the van up the track and back to proper roads and civilisation, Big N decided that the best course of action would be to walk to work. I watched from the warmth of the living room as he slipped and slithered, skated and slid up the hill.  He tried to perform a glissade at one point  to make it all look effortless and slightly more elegant but discovered too late  that there was nothing underfoot to get any kind of purchase on so  he ended up clinging helplessly to the stone wall while his feet slid in all directions. I could practically see the steam coming our of his ears as he was dragging himself stone by stone along the wall the top of the hill. The comedy value of it was excellent, I very nearly peed!  It’s just a shame that the downhill descent was round the corner and I couldn’t watch. I’m certain that was just as entertaining.

Boofuls in the meantime had abandoned the van in the field and slithered back for my car. Condemned as it is, it is still a 4WD and quite useful in bad weather.  The car got up the track with very little trouble and off they went to work.

All well and good. Until.

The time came when I had to leave the house. Now sans car my only option was to walk into town. Not particularly keen to carry out a repeat of Bg N’s performance of a couple of hours earlier I devised a cunning plan.

The slidy boot test.

Lining all my boots up by the front door I knelt on the ground and scrubbed the sole of each boot in turn along the icy surface outside to see which boot was the least slidy.

Big furry yeti boots? Nope.

Trendy fashion boot? Nope.

Walking boots? Nope. They were the worst!

Wellies? Yep.

Six thousand layers of clothes later and I was all ready for the walk into town. The slidy boot test paid off because although it was most certainly still slippery, there wasn’t a repeat of Big N’s performance and I managed to reach my destination in one piece  if not at all stylishly dressed.

I’ll fill you in on the rest of the weekend’s exciting tales in the next installment.

2 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s Day”

Leave a Reply

