Spring Morning on the moors

Dangerous has turned nine. Happy birthday, Dangerous!!

I think she had quite a nice birthday. When I was a kid having a birthday on a school day was always a bad thing. Now they take in cakes and have a mini birthday party in their class.  She’d already had a fantastic day by the time she’d finished school and then she had her surprise party at home as well as presents and money from lots of people and a big chocolate cake. All in all, not a bad day.

Spring has well and truly arrived here in Blighty. In fact, the weather is so nice we are having the first barbecue of the year today. A barbeque in March? Unheard of! A I write, the sun is blazing away like a good ‘un and I’m fighting the urge to wash every curtain, sheet, in fact bit of washable fabric in the house. What is it about spring that makes you want to give everything a really good clean? The dog had better keep out my way or he’ll be next on my washing list.

I’ve been up since 5.45 this morning – except that it wasn’t 5.45 at all, it was 6.45 because the clocks went forward last night. It was just getting light as I opened a bleary eye and realised that  the sun was giving hints that it might put on a spectacular dawn display so I grabbed my camera and the dog and set off on to the moors to watch the show.  The show didn’t quite live up to expectations but what’s not to love anyway, being on the moors on a still, and warm sunny morning listening to the birds and nothing else.  No traffic, no people, just me, the dog and nature, I saw a hare this morning, haring off in the opposite direction, obviously I startled it. I suppose the  last thing it would be expecting to see was some gallumphing great hiker disturbing it’s Sunday morning reverie. It didn’t look best pleased as it sped off. Can’t say as I blame it.

Here are a few of  my shots from this morning’s walk. Hope you like them.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

