Raindrops keep falling on my head

One of my Mum’s very favourite songs.

It’s one of two that I can’t listen to without getting all wistful, the other one is Daydream Believer. Our dance teacher once played Raindrops keep Falling On My Head, shortly after Mum had died and it caused me to burst into an unstoppable flood of tears. “Take it off, take it off.” Lashes implored him as I fell apart in the ballroom. The poor bloke wondered what the hell was going on.

I can listen to it now without crying, it brings back nice memories of my Mum singing it on a lovely family holiday in Lesvos one year. Music is unbelievably emotive, isn’t it?

It’s been stuck in my head for a different reason today though, the raindrops are actually falling – in their gazillions. The roads have turned into rivers and as I type this I have towels soaking up the water that’s pouring into the house under the patio doors. So much rain! I can’t remember when we last had this much rain. Even the ducks are sheltering. Torrential isn’t in it – and now a nice 50mph wind has come along to join it. You have to love an English summer!

So. For your wet Friday afternoon pleasure here it is:

Still on the subject of rain. The bride and groom from a couple of weeks ago came to view their proofs this morning. There’s was the wet wedding. The poor bride had had plans for us to photograph them all having a champagne breakfast on the terrace and photos of her with the dogs and the horses but the weather put paid to all that. She was brilliant on the day and just got on with enjoying it but I knew she was a bit disappointed.

I’d already made my mind up that if she was up for it we’d get her all dressed up again when the weather was nice and do the shots at the farm as she originally wanted. Ok, it won’t be her actual wedding day but they’ll be a nice keepsake. When they walked in with a nice big bottle of Bailey’s for us before they’d even seen their photographs the deal was done. This is my kind of couple! I’m pleased to report that they loved their photos. Especially the rainy ones.

Tomorrow I’ll be picking up my new (to me) car. Yay! I’m really excited about it as the one I have now has been troublesome in the extreme. I’ll be glad to see they back of it. Not so much a Grand Vitara and a Crap Vitara. So if you see a nice blue Honda 4WD zooming round the lanes of a grim and rainy Lancashire tomorrow and the driver has a big silly grin on her face – that’ll be me!

One thought on “Raindrops keep falling on my head”

  1. You just don`t know what I would give for few drops of rain over here. It is sunny (from 5 am to almost 9 pm), it is hot and a nice few-hours-long rain would do miracles.

    (now I`m off to read the posts I`ve missed)

Leave a Reply

