I’m gonna shove this sausage….

Well, Douggie the Doggie met his brother on Saturday at the golden retriever rescue annual ‘invite only’ bash.

I only mention it’s invite only because in my innocence and naivety I thought that if you were having a fund raising event you’d want the world to know about it. How wrong can you be? having lost the letter inviting us to the event I posted the heinous question on the forum. “Where’s the fun day being held?” The answer  appeared – only to disappear again a short while later. In it’s place was a private message  telling me that loose talk causes uninvited guests to turn up. Isn’t that a good thing? Apparently not.

Blimey!

Knuckles duly rapped we turned up and enjoyed the day immensely. Food, sunshine, lots of people and dogs to meet, prizes, what’s not to like?

Douggie came 2nd in the best puppy competition and between us we came third in the best six legs competition. I knew that my eclectic look of pale blue, hairy legs teamed with grey hiking socks and boots was a winning combination, especially next to Douggie’s polar white paws. None of this gaudy golden colour of the other dogs for us, we kept to a soft monochrome leg look, nicely offset with kingfisher blue leggings, tee shirt and fleece – and it paid off. I’m looking tres elegant as normal, as you can see.

 

Awww, don’t he look a cutie with his rosettes?

 

We met lots of nice people and Douggie’s brother, Derek.  It was all so emotional, I could have cried. I don’t know why it was so emotional, it just was. We hit it off with Derek’s Mum and have made arrangements to meet up and keep in touch. All in all not a bad day out. Here’s Douggie  on the left and Derek on the right along with step sister, Honey in the middle. Douggie is most definitely the big brother.

 

 

I’d been telling Derek’s mum that Douggie has this amazing talent for destroying indestructible toys. His latest Kong toy, a fluffy moose, had it’s ears ripped off in seconds and the rest of it was systematically demolished over the course of the next couple of days. That prompted me to go for a bigger, even tougher toy. A black, rubber, cone shaped affair that’s allegedly tougher than a tough thing. The idea is that you stuff dog treats into one end of it and it keeps the dog amused for hours as it tries to extricate them. Brilliant, every dog should have one!

After the show we said our goodbyes and me, Boofuls and Batty all went out to the pub with the rude name for dinner. Batty ordered sausage and mash. Boofuls and me went for the roast beef and yorkshire pudding combo. As always it was delicious. Batty couldn’t finish all of hers so I decided that we’d take the remaining big, juicy sausage home with us for the dog. “I know, I’m going to stuff this sausage right up his Kong and see how long it takes him to get it out.” I cried in delight at being able to kill two birds with one stone, ie. economising and amusing the dog at the same time.

It was only when everyone else fell about laughing and the dour men at the next table gave me a look that would curdle milk,  that I realised how my comment sounded to those not ‘in the loop’. Oops.

 

Leave a Reply

