Out of the mouths of babes and sucklings

A couple of times over the last few days I’ve been reduced to tears of laughter by comments that have come out of the mouths of small children.

The first one was on Saturday during a portrait shoot. There was nanny, Mum, Aunty and the little girl. What a character she was. Two years old and character in spades. Totally unaware she was being amusing, she absolutely charmed me and Boofuls.  I could hardly bear to let her go home. As small kids often do, she wanted to check out the facilities. Often. She must have gone to the loo about ten times.

At one point she approached Boofuls and asked him. “Will you take me for a poo?” Awkward. Poor bloke.

“No, darling, you need to go and ask your Mum”, he replied. The little girl walked over to her Mum and asked her loudly;

“Mummy. Can he take me for a poo?”

Oh how my sides ached, I could hardly breathe for laughing.

 

I got in trouble from Munki today for singing the wrong words to a song from one of her favourite programmes.

Apparently the correct lyrics are; Roll your sleeves up, give your hands a wash with slippy slippy soap, splish splash splosh.

My version was; Roll your sleeves up, give your hands a wash, we’re going to get ready to make some nosh.

“NO! NANNY! NO! THAT’S NOT RIGHT!!” She was disgusted at the corruption of her favourite song. She was so disgusted she gave her banana to the dog in a hissy fit.

On the way home  in the car she was telling me that she doesn’t like dinosaurs. I agreed that dinosaurs might be a bit scary. I was a bit surprised when she informed me with great solemnity that dinosaurs are the same thing as vampires. Now that’d be really scary. I tried my best not to laugh out loud but there was a lot of coughing and spluttering going on. It’s hard to drive with tears streaming down your face.

These kids will be the death of me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

