Silent night….ssshhhhhh I said SILENT night!

Living, as we do,  on top of a mountain in  (almost) the windiest part of the windiest country in Europe, the actual windiest place is Scotland, we get used to it being, well, windy.

The thing about wind is that it makes a bit of a racket with it’s whistling, howling, roaring blustering windiness. We get so used to hearing it that we don’t even notice it any more, unless it’s a really rumbly, house groaning type of wind in which case we pull all the curtains shut , snuggle down under a blanket and say, “Ooh, hark at that wind. Glad I”m not out in that.”

Very rarely we get a day that isn’t windy. Guess what? The silence is DEAFENING!

Today was one of those days.

As I walked Velcrodog down the foggy and silent lane we spoke in whispers to each other since the silence was quite intimidating.  Speaking in a normal voice felt quite wrong. The atmosphere was one of a doctor’s waiting room. What do you mean, what do I mean? Of course the dog and me speak to each other. I’d just be a mad woman with a dog if I walked down the road talking to myself. Well, alright. he doesn’t so much speak as look at me and nod sagely as I waffle on about heels, by me’s and good boys but it all counts.

So. Moving swiftly on as I’ve just realised I do sound ever so slightly mad…….

While we were walking I realised that part of the reason I like fog and snow so much is that it muffles sounds and makes everything peaceful, calm and still. That’s a real treat these days, a bit of peace and quiet. I hope we get a few more days of it before we return to the howling and blustering.

 

It’s now only a few more  sleeps till Boofuls’ and my BIG ADVENTURE!!

Just in case you’ve been on Mars and haven’t heard about it – We’re off to the Arctic!

Thermal knickers and socks were the order of the day for Christmas presents this year in preparation for the trip. I’ve even invested in a super duper new camera especially for the trip  – a Canon 5D MkIII.  OMG!!! (as they txt).

Just for the camera nerds – and I do know there are at least two of you reading this. I used one of these cameras at a freelance wedding job I did last week and it was amazing.

It has  an incredibly high ISO of 104,800!!!  The wedding shots with ISO of 800 or higher were completely noiseless! (Ok, I know I’m sounding a bit excitable now but I am excitable – and I can’t seem to leave the ! key alone!). That means, dear non nerdy readers – and well done for keeping going this far – that I can practically shoot pictures in the dark with little or no noise! Perfect for the Arctic in January and for the much hoped for northern lights. *Thinks* Arctic in January ? Are we totally bonkers?

Gotta go! Gotta pack!

 

 

Leave a Reply

