Going Nowhere Fast

That isn’t some deep and meaningful title for the lack of house sale (although it could be but let’s not talk about that) it’s more literal.

It’s no secret that I love snow. Snow makes me happy. Snow brings out the inner child in me. But, come on, enough’s enough. Now the heavens are taking the piss. ENOUGH WITH THE SNOW ALREADY!

But I’m getting ahead of myself, I have a whole weeks worth of news for you so go and make yourself a coffee, grab a pack of one dips, sit back and read on.

Last Saturday. Little Sis and partner came to visit. Yay! We took them to a local eatery, the one where the local farmers tend to frequent so the food has to be both cheap and plentiful so as not to get the local yokels complaining. I have no issue with cheap and plentiful, in fact, they are two of my favourite words, another one is ‘tasty’ and this eaterie fits the criteria on all three.

The reason for Li’l Sis’s visit was to help celebrate my *gulp* 53rd birthday.

I know, I know, I can hear you saying it now. ” FIFTY THIRD BIRTHDAY?!? You don’t loook a day over 35, you must have the numbers the wrong way round. ” *Blushes modestly* It’s all in the genes you know.

Moving quickly on before anyone has a chance to say anything…

Halfway through our ginormous meal I managed to lift my face out of the trough where I was choffing like a good ‘un and was surprised  to see Len, Lashes and Munki all stood there grinning at us – and bearing a huge bunch of flowers. How lovely. Ok, birthdays aren’t that bad after all, are they?

We spent a pleasant hour in their company and then set off on the 5 minute journey home, getting there just as it started to snow. And snow. And snow. Oh no!

“I’ve got 30 people coming round for brunch tomorrow, it can’t snow. I’ve bought mountains of sausages, not to mention all the croissants, juice and all the other necessary items for a posh brunch for shed loads of folks. Gggaaaahhhhh!

Sunday morning dawned. The snow situation wasn’t too bad, not bad enough to stop people arriving if they wanted to. I  (note the use of the word ‘I’ ) took the dog out for a walk, baked some scones, prepared all the food, cleaned the house, fed the animals, laid the table……right. Listen to me you Americans. Laid the table doesn’t mean what you think it does so stop laughing this minute! (admittedly it does make a funny picture in the mind). It means to put plates and cutlery on the table. Tsk. Dirty minds!

People began to arrive exactly at the appointed time and just about everyone came who was supposed to. How lovely. People who didn’t know each other sat and chatted happily together, the kids played, the Bucks Fizz flowed and the sausages sizzled.  What a lovely day.  I loved it. When most of the guests had gone and it only immediate family were left, Munki  suggested that we all play musical statues. That was truly inspired. What a hoot.

So that was birthday day. Not too disastrous after all and I didn’t spend the entire day crying in a corner mourning  my lost youth.

Then followed a so so week. I can deal with so so after the dramas of the last few weeks.

A few days after my birthday it was Dangerous’ birthday.  Still young enough to look forward to her birthdays rather than dread them, the plan was to go for an Indian. Meal, that is, not an actual Indian. I’m sure there are laws against that kind of thing these days.

Easy enough plan. Till the snow started again. It snowed solidly for about 36 hours. That combined with gale force winds has made some spectacular 5 foot snowdrifts – which have rendered us completely incapable of going anywhere that involves a car. Even a snow plough won’t  do us a lot of good as there is a car abandoned across the road. Taking the dog out this morning I literally had to climb over some of these drifts. Oh well, might as well get on with a few jobs, read a few books and watch a bit of telly, we’re going nowhere for a few days. It’s bloody spring for God’s sake! Let’s have some sunshine!

Poor old Dangerous didn’t get to celebrate her birthday. I don’t know what to say really, except that I know how disappointed she must be. The only consolation prize is that she’s had half of her presents and still has half to come AND is still owed a birthday party. That will effectively make two birthdays for the price of one!!  Every cloud, as they say.

Here are a few pictures of our little hamlet in the snow.

Copyright Copyright Copyright Copyright Copyright Copyright Copyright Copyright Copyright Copyright Copyright Copyright Copyright

Leave a Reply

