See what I have to deal with?

Here’s an enquiry that dropped into my inbox earlier:

Hi, I am looking for any style of photography, I would love a traditional style but also with an edgy style too.

What? So let me get this right. You have no preference to style as long as it’s both traditional and edgy? Super.

Have you missed me? I haven’t just been being tardy with the blog, I’ve been trying to get to you to tell you everything that’s been going on but there’s just been so much of it. Life is anything but dull these days.

A couple that Boofuls and I know quite well phoned and asked us if we’d do them a huge favour and go on a hotel break for them. Huh? Hotel break? Do my ears deceive me?

It seems they’d bought a voucher for a hotel break, found themselves unable  to go and would lose the money of they cancelled so decided they’d like to give it to us. Fab!

The hotel was in the East Midlands. A very grand stately home. “Well, go on then, it’ll be tough but we’ll take it off your hands”, we told them. That’s the nearest thing we’ll be getting to a holiday for a few months.  I was really looking forward to it. Do you want to see where we stayed?  It’s here. Not too shabby, eh?

 

Source: teachers.org.uk
Source: teachers.org.uk

A few days before we were due to go we got a phone call from Boofuls sister telling us that his brother was seriously ill. Boofuls went down to see him immediately and we decided that we’d tag another trip to see him onto the end of our hotel break.

Talk about zigzagging around! We left the north west to go east and then left there to go south west as far as we could get without falling off the end of the country.

Cripes! That was a lot of driving.

I’m going to gloss over a lot of stuff now *gloss gloss gloss*  suffice to say that we were glad we went.

What did I learn from this trip? We have some nice friends. Families matter. Boofuls and me don’t spend enough time alone together. The whole trip was a roller coaster of emotions ranging from elation to devastation – sometimes in the space of a few minutes.

What else did I learn? That we need to visit Devon far more often than we do. I used to live there as a child and I’d forgotten how much I liked it. Tell me again why we live here when we could live there?

An a totally different note: Boofuls sent me this link to a Steve Martin sketch, I laughed so much the dog came in to see what was going on. Enjoy.

http://rubytooth.com/link/45516

Leave a Reply

