Flabbergasted

It’s fair to say that my flabber has never been so very gasted.

All you lovely people.  Where have you been all my life? This zero to hero challenge is ace. I nearly fell off my chair yesterday when I realised that this little blog had had a month’s worth of hits in one day. Wow! Thanks! This is doing my ego a load of good. If it carries on I’ll have to get the doors widened.

Yesterday was also a memorable day for another reason.

I wish it was a nice one but it isn’t .

A friend of mine and Boofuls dropped dead. Just like that. There one minute and gone the next. No illness, no warning no goodbyes. What his family are gong through at the moment I can’t even imagine.

We are expecting a couple of people to shuffle off their mortal coil very soon but he was most definitely not one of them.

I’ve known this chap since I was fifteen. The shock is indescribable so I won’t even try to describe it.

Sorry, lovelies. That’s not what you tuned in for, is it? I’m trying to be positive, I really am.

On a positive note:

Over the last few weeks there have been a few moments that have made Boofuls and I sit up and take notice. Life is indeed precious and I’d quite like to live before I die.

This year is marking the beginning a some major life changes for us. Some of which we’ve already started to put into action. If we don’t do something we’ll just work till we drop and that’s a rubbish plan. I’d quite like to smell a few roses before popping off . Bloody hell! I’ve just realised. If this was a soap opera script I’d be dead before the month was out. There’s nothing guaranteed to kill a character off quicker than a change for the better in their life.

Over the next few weeks and months I’ll be filling you in on these plans as they materialise. The first change is that we’re keeping work to a sensible level. Tricky to do when, as a photographer, I do all my editing and paper work  from home. It’s far too easy to pop into the office to “just do a bit on that …” whatever it happens to be.

Ha! Did I say paperwork?  I almost managed to keep a straight face when I said that. Paperwork and me don’t really get on.  I’m an artist not a pen pusher (she said as she flicked back her hair and flounced out on her kitten heels).

Anyway, back to the plot. We will no longer be working until 10pm every night and all weekend. Instead Its going to be an early evening cut off and at least every other weekend free. Clients  will have to fit in around my diary and not the other way round. Work smart not hard is my new motto.

There. I’ve said it out loud. That means it’s the law so we have to stick to it.

12 thoughts on “Flabbergasted”

    1. Thanks, Alexandra. That’s a lesson we’ve really had brought home to us is a big way over the last few weeks.

      Thanks for stopping by. I’ll try to be more upbeat next time 😀

  1. it is really nice how people are connecting through this challenge! I’m also on an ego trip myself, hahaha and I love getting to know new people, sooo…

    too bad w the news of your friend’s passing, though! ;(

  2. You can’t be positive all of the time, BUT, I positively like your idea of not working all the time and taking time to enjoy your loved one. 🙂
    Wish I could help your with your paperwork some way from here. Hang in there my friend!

    1. Vanessa, It’s been a real wake up call this last few weeks. I wish you cold help with my paperwork too. Ah well, at least my accountant knows what to expect when the books go in- a shambles hehee

  3. I’m so sad to read your lost your friend. Last year broke a cycle for me. For the 6 years previous I lost one person close to me every year (my parents, my brother and 3 friends). Going through the grieving process over and over gain taught me valuable life lessons. I now treasure every precious moment I have with those I love.

    I hope you make many new friends online by participating in the Hero to Zero challenge.

    1. Thank you for sharing that with me. I can’t imagine how you coped with losing one loved one after another. The pain of your loss must have been unbearable at times. It’s good that you have become stronger because of your experiences instead of introverted and bitter as can so easily happen.You are absolutely right, we must treasure the time we have with our loves ones as we never know when that time will end.

  4. That’s so sad about your friend. I’m at “an age” now where death is affecting more friends and acquaintances. It used to be grandparents that were passing away; now it’s parents and siblings & people I went to school with. Every time I feel a bit miserable I remind myself that I’v had x more years than so & so got and it prompts me to put what’s important into perspective.

    1. Our friend who just died was only two years older than me and four years younger than my husband.

      You are so right about what’s important and getting things into perspective.

Leave a Reply

