One year ago today

Exactly one year ago tomorrow Boofuls and me set off onto our Big Adventure. I say ‘our’ but I really mean ‘my’ big adventure. Boofuls, bless him would no more have chosen to come here than fly to the moon ( actually, he’d probably love that) but being the man he is he willingly went along with my dream of travelling inside the Arctic circle in the hope of seeing the northern lights.

We got off the plane and stepped into a magical land.  Where dawn and dusk merged for a couple of hours into a dreamscape of blues, pinks and purples and where the night sky danced and twisted in shades of green and purple.

On the coach journey to our hotel, right on the border between Sweden and Finland, I stared out of the window transfixed as I saw what looked like strange and mythical creatures lining our route. Dragons, gremlins, weird and wonderful shapes of the trees bent over and carrying a heavy coat of snow fuelled my imagination. I really felt like I’d stepped through the wardrobe into Narnia.

This is where I experienced one of the most terrifying events of my entire life; husky sledding in the pitch black.  The only light being from the torch attached to the driver of the sled shining onto the reflective strip on the suit of the driver in front.  I loved it!

I didn’t love it quite so much when it was my turn to drive. Those dogs are fast! I may have sworn once or twice while I clung on for grim death as the huskies galloped at breakneck speed down what looked and felt like a bobsleigh run, slowing down occasionally to fight with each other.  I was convinced we were going to die. Luckily we didn’t so we repeated the exercise again a couple of days later.

There are so many highlights of this trip that a post about it would be the size of War and Peace. I’ll let the photographs give you a feel for what it was like.  You get a gazillion brownie points if you can tell me what is special about the church.

14 thoughts on “One year ago today”

    1. Oh it was. Every day was more magical than the previous one. Mind you, Boofuls nearly starved to death, couldn’t bring himself to eat Rudolph.

    1. Aw, thanks, Meebee.

      I’d love to accept the challenge and I’ll be on it’s case first thing tomorrow morning ( when I’m supposed to be working). In the meantime though it’s beddybye’s for me.

      Thanks again. Ha! * happy face*

    1. Thank you 😀

      I hope you make the trip, it’s really worth it, not just for the northern lights, everything about it is amazing.

      I’m trying to get the hubs to agree to go again.

    1. You are soooo clever!!!!! It is the most northerly church but there is something else about it as well. I’l announce it tomorrow. Ha! I impresses * does happy dance*

    1. Ohhhhhnoooooo! I forgot to do it with al my carpet dramas. I’ll do it today, I promise. Thanks for reminding me 😀 and thank you for being interested. 😀 😀

Leave a Reply

