Every cloud has a silver lining – and all that

We’re all back at home now after our jaunt to south Devon for brother in law’s funeral.

So. Where’s this ‘ere silver lining then?

I’ll tell you, dear reader. Right after I tell you that I’ll be back on track with the zero to hero challenge tomorrow. I haven’t given up on it. Call it more of an interlude.

Boofuls, me, The Rev, Lashes and Len all travelled down to Devon.  As sad as it was, I was thrilled that the kids wanted to come with us.  I don’t get to spend nearly enough time with them. Silver lining number one. Big N stayed home to look after Douggie.

We arrived at our hotel, the very hotel that inspired Fawlty Towers. I was so excited to be staying at the actual Fawlty Towers.

Source: Internet

Source: Internet

images-1

Source: Internet

It’s actually called the Hotel Gleneagles.

It wasn’t the  Fawlty Towers, Watery Fowls, Flowery Tw*ts, Flay Otters, Farty Towels or any other version of the name that I laughed at as a teenager till my stomach ached and the tears poured down my face.  I was expecting to see the building in the photos above but instead we found a very modern building and well run establishment. It was luv-er-ly. Silver lining number two.

After our long journey we went to a pub that Boofuls and I found on our last trip. The food was amazing and we thought it would be a nice treat after a long, hard journey. Before we set off, Lashes and I went to get our nails done at a local nail bar so we’d look our best for the funeral. I’m not going to count that as a silver lining because they did Lashes’ nails wrong and had to do them all again. It wasn’t so much a treat as an endurance test in the end. By the time we got out of there we were all starving to death and ready eat chunks  of the car steering wheel.

We managed to hold off though till we got to the pub.

At the pub  it was clear that there was only one member of staff on duty and a pub full of diners. The poor waitresses face when we walked in was a picture. There wasn’t a table for five so she put us in the conservatory.

Oh. Dear. Lord. I’m not saying it was cold but we could see our own breath!

Despite all that we had a brilliant meal and the wine flowed. Oh how the wine flowed. The more it flowed the sillier we got. After we’d  got back to the hotel, Lashes and I did a little re-enactment play of my bedroom carpet incident. I played myself and Lashes played the paint. It was just hilarious. Mind you, at that point most things were hilarious.  I think the bar man enjoyed our little play. Silver lining number three.

On the morning of the funeral I went to get my hair done at a local salon which was just brilliant. I know where to go now when we’re in Devon in future. I left there feeling marvellous and, amazingly, hangover free. Silver lining number four. Unlike poor Len who was more than a little ill. In fact everyone else took themselves back to bed for a couple of hours. I took myself off for a nice long walk along the coast. Silver lining number five.

Just look at this little chap who came to say hello to me on my walk. Isn’t he just gorgeous?

Nosy robin
Nosy robin

here are a few other photographs, all taken on my phone, from the trip.

Copyright

If you’re really clever you’ll notice that this next photo is the same rock but photographed from a distance. From my hotel bedroom window. Not a bad view, eh?

Anstey's cove
Anstey’s cove

When lashes and Len were having a sleep me, Boofuls and The Rev had a ride out to Brixham to see the golden Hind. Silver lining number six.

Copyright Copyright

While we were there I saw this just crying out to be photographed. Any guesses as to what it is?

Copyright

Over the course of that couple of days  we met family that we’d never really met before, certainly The Rev, Lashes and Len met lots of new people and they all got on really well. We all have lots of new Facebook friends now and are al busily sharing photos, jokes and chatting away madly trying to catch up on the lost years. Silver lining number seven.

So there we are. All in all although the reason for our trip was terrible, there is a silver lining to be found on every cloud, there may even be more than one if you look really closely. 

4 thoughts on “Every cloud has a silver lining – and all that”

    1. It’s not bad, is it? There were two sea view rooms available. One was already booked for Boofuls and me, the other one Lashes grabbed before The Rev had a chance to open his mouth. he got a view of the car park.

Leave a Reply

