The Enormous Crap

I imagine after a title like that, (well done for progressing past the title if you’re still here),  you’re starting to read this with a certain amount of trepidation about what’s to follow.

Well, fear not, dear reader, it’s not as bad as you might be thinking.

As you know, Munki has been at ‘big’ school now for some months and has taken to it like a duck to water.  If ever a child needed to go to school it was that one . The structure , the discipline and  the mountain of knowledge just waiting to be uncovered have made this an exciting time for her. It turns out that the child is a bit of a mathematical genius and can’t wait to get home from school to log on to  ‘Mathletics’ on her computer and earn herself a few hundred more points. Long may that continue!

Somehow, the teachers took a long time to notice that she is also a very good reader, mostly down to the fact that Lashes has read to and with her almost every day since she was born.  Day after day Munki has been  coming home from school with books  that had a  single word on a page and complaining, “They’re BORING!”  They aren’t  even the beginning of a challenge to Munki who’s reading age is far above her years.

Lashes continued to quietly read to and with Munki on a daily basis, from books far in advance of the ones coming home from school and eventually they realised at school that they might actually be holding Munki back a bit and so now they give her books from the junior readers.  They have at least four words on a page. Still no kind of a challenge but a move in the right direction.

In their defence I imaging they are trying to establish that she is actually understanding  what she’s reading before giving her works of literary genius to have a go at.

One day last week, Munki came home with another book from school.  Lashes duly read it through with Munki, it was an engaging little story about an enormous crab. After the story was finished Lashes picked up the reading record book to sign and therefore prove that Munki had done her homework.  Imagine her surprise when she read what the teacher had written earlier in the day when she wrote the title of the book:

IMG_8804

Lashes, didn’t know if she should laugh, cry, complain or ignore it.  In the end she decided to laugh and then have a word with the teacher about it. Me, I laughed and laughed and laughed.

Yesterday I spent some time with Dangerous and Batty. We went for a lovely walk through the woods and had a fantastic time climbing over all the trees that had blown down in our recent storms. Of course Douggie the doggie came along as well. Why can’t I just have a nice little dog who doesn’t like to get dirty? I think it’s fair to say he enjoyed his walk. here are  the before, during and after photos.

Copyright

Copyright

Copyright

Copyright

To be honest, if you’d  have taken a picture of me after that walk I’d have looked a bit like that last picture as well.

Word camp sheffield anyone going?

11 thoughts on “The Enormous Crap”

  1. *snort* I love it. And that’s what dogs are for!

    I feel Munki’s pain. My parents (okay, my mum) always read to all of us (youngest of 4 boys here) and I was a happy reader before I started school. And despite going to a primary school that had – at most – 30 pupils at any one time (infant room + junior room) and that my mother knew the teachers very well, it still took some time for them to grasp the fact that I was past the “Nip is a dog. Fluff is a cat. See Nip run! See Fluff run!” book stage. It got even worse when I changed schools for my last 18 months of primary school. For someone who had read The Hobbit aged 7, going to Easy Readers was somewhat of a let-down …

    1. I bet it was. It seems odd to me that children get held back. It happened to me, to my children and now to their children. I thought school was supposed to promote a love of reading, not inhibit it. Oh yes, don’t even get me started on ITA!!!

      1. I think the attitude is whatever’s easiest for the teacher. I don’t think that they’re set up for those pupils who ‘buck the trend’ in that way. Of course, if you get the right teacher then its fantastic. And I was lucky enough to have a few very good teachers who encouraged me. It also helped to have a pushy mother … 😉

      2. You’re reaping the benefits now of your pushy mother though. My daughter used to roll her eyes at me every time I corrected her pronunciation, which was about every two minutes once she started school. Now she does it to Munki – who rolls her eyes at Lashes. Heh, what goes around comes around, as they say.

      3. Oh definitely! And I have thanked her profusely for it! Not that I have children of my own, but I have parroted things she used to say to my nieces – and hear similar things coming out of the mouth of one of my brothers to his children!

    1. Hahaaaa. I’ve learnt the hard way that I need to keep Douggie on his lead past the massive poe of horse poo. Now he walks past it, staring at it and straining at the leash to at least get a good old sniff of it. Bless him.

  2. Showed my Young One the notes about the book. We laughed and laughed!

    As for the rolling-in-the-dirt dogs, I am jealous of you and Annabelle (I see NB’s comment). Pierre never rolls around. So sad. 😐

    Jealous, too, that you’re talking about WordCamp Sheffield. Are you going??? I was just telling the Young One today that we have to make good on your invitation and get over there. Perhaps next year. 😀

    1. Tell you what. I’ll lend my roll in the dirt dog to you and when you’ve been ankle deep in horse poo as you try to wash it off him I think you’ll find the novelty is short lived 😀 Pierre is a wise dog. There’s nothing big or clever about rolling in poo.

      I think I will go to the Sheffield WordCamp. It’s only a couple of hours from here so it’ll be a nice trip. I’ll bake a cake for you and the Young One when you come to visit. ( that was a total lie. I’ll buy one).

Leave a Reply

