Daily prompt

Ok, this was actually a few days ago so I’m not sure it still counts as a daily prompt but hey ho. I stumbled across it when I was doing a bit of  blog surfing during a quiet few minutes.

The second I saw it a whole stream of ideas came tumbling forward. If only I’d had the time to sit and write about it all then.  With hindsight it’s probably as well I had a few days thinking time as I was feeling particularly bellicose that day about out little town and some of my suggestions may have shocked and/or offended you. Certainly my answer would have been short and to the point. So, here it is:

“What do you love most about the city / town / place that you live in? What do you like the least about it? If you were mayor, what would be the most important problem you’d tackle?”

A prompt like this could open a whole can of worms, couldn’t it?  It reminds me of when I was at college and he had to do a photographic essay about ‘our town’. I’m not saying the tutors lacked imagination or anything but that same project turned up several times during my time at college. There’s hardly a street in the town that I haven’t photographed as part of some, ‘My Town’ project or other. Anyway, back to the plot. I remember the tutor saying that it’s easy to find the negative things and portray a poor image, try to give  a balanced view of things, get to the heart and soul of the place. I’ll try and apply that premise to this, ‘My Town.’ project.

What do I love most about this little townette? Without doubt it’s spectacular scenery.  Boofuls and I  are lucky enough where we live to have views right across the valley. We can watch the weather  over the hills change on an hourly or even minute by minute basis as we are so high up.  The changing colours on the moors as the seasons roll by always fascinates me and Lashes has often mocked my exclamations of, “Just look at that beautiful light.” I suppose that’s a photographer thing.  From anywhere in this town it’s only a short walk to the moors where you can feel like you are on the top of the world. Ah yes, that’s definitely the best thing about this town – getting out of it.

What do I like the least? So many things to choose from.  Like so many places it has a huge divide between the haves and the have nots. It is one of the few places left where low cost rented accommodation is still available and that of course brings it’s own problems.  Let’s be polite and call them social problems.  Just last Saturday I picked up seven, count ’em, s-e-v-en empty vodka bottles from the car park at work, they’d been casually flung over the wall, along with the  many beer cans, chip wrappers, an onion, peeled and wrapped in cling film (?) and various other bits of detritus.   With regard to the vodka bottles ( they are nothing to do with me – that’s just a rumour, honest!) I can only assume that someone likes a little drinkie on the way home from the pub so gets a half bottle of vodka to keep them company on the way home. They must just happen to finish it as they pass my place of work.  At least these bottles were still intact and not in a million pieces all over the car park as they so often are.

That brings nicely to my daily rant. Glass and dog poo. Everywhere.  Taking Douggie the doggie for a walk anywhere round the streets of this town is fraught with danger for his little paws. I’m sure there must be a town glass smasher because all the pavements, the base of the trees, the car parks and the playgrounds all have a layer of glass frosting.   How is it possible to have so much glass absolutely everywhere? Between that and the dog poo dodging we must look like we’re dancing up the street.  There are times I think I’m the only person who ever picks up after my dog.  I must say that I do feel rather stupid sometimes picking up Douggie’s poos when there are at least six others in the same area surrounding it like a little poo fairy ring.

Of course there are the good citizens who decide to decide to pick up the poo – and then leave it or fling it into the bushes. Seriously, what’s that about?  It’s probably better to leave it where it was, usually in the middle of the pavement where it will at least biodegrade as it’s being spread around the neighbourhood on the shoes of small children who fail to see it in time.

If I was mayor? Easy. Kick out the scrotes and clean the place up. That isn’t going to happen any time soon though. This town has been, and has the potential to be, a charming little town. All it needs is a little bit of love and a  whole lot of money spending on it. 

Leave a Reply

