The Curious Waves

While I was taking the dog for his evening walk tonight I was lured to the sea front by the sound of crashing waves.  IT’s like a magnet, crashing waves, I can’t help but go and take a look as I’ m fascinated by the sea.  Since being a small child I’ve wanted to live by the sea – and now I do. Ok, it took fifty years to achieve my goal but we’re here now. Better late than never.

Anyway, back to the plot. As I walked down towards the prom I could see that every now and then a wave would pop it’s head up over the wall as if trying to see what was on the other side.  Not that there was a lot to see, a few stray tourists, a couple who, like me, clearly enjoyed watching the waves, a couple of cars and that was about it.

Still the sea kept jumping up trying to look over the wall.

I was quietly giggling to myself at the absurdity of it all when a huge waved jumped straight over the wall and soaked a couple who had been quietly minding their own business. Ok. I admit it. I laughed.

It didn’t stop me playing chicken with the waves five minutes later, unlike the other people though, I only got my feet wet. That happens so regularly these days that I’m in great danger of developing trench foot. It’s worth it though, it’s also worth the fifty year wait to get here. As I walk along the prom in the morning before starting work I just can’t believe how lucky we are to live in such a beautiful place. It just goes to show, it’s never to late to live your dreams.

Here are a few photos, taken on different days. Enjoy.

Copyright tripping over pebbles no more
Copyright tripping over pebbles no more
Copyright
Copyright
Copyright
Copyright
6 thoughts on “The Curious Waves”

  1. Like you, I’m lucky enough to live by the sea. I LOVE waves, especially massive great big ones. Sometimes I dream about waves the size of tower blocks – dreams that should be scary, but are actually great fun! I hope I come back as a professional surfer in my next life.

    1. Isn’t it brilliant living by the sea? I’ll never get fed up of that. Funny you should say about surfing. I’ve been teaching douggie to surf and I’ve put surf lessons and a wetsuit on my Christmas list. You CAN teach an old dog new tricks! I might keep away from waves the size of tower blocks though ;-D

      1. You’ve given me hope – maybe it’s not too late for me to learn! I’ve got the wetsuit, now I just need the lessons. I don’t think I’ll be teaching Millie and Pearl, though – I can’t imagine a Greyhound and a Lurcher taking to surfing! 😉

Leave a Reply

