Trudge trudge trudge

Every day Douggie the doggie and I walk down to the beach. He does like his daily swim. If he doesn’t get it for whatever reason he gets a proper cob on.

The good thing about walking on the beach every day is that the bad old days of a stinking, muddy dog are long gone. The bad thing is that he, and I, are always wet through.

He gets so excited he runs round me flicking water from his long, waggy tail all over me. It has got so bad that I have taken to wearing wellies and waterproof trousers no matter what the weather is like.  I can’t even wear the wellies without the waterproof pants as he always ,manages to flick water down my wellies and I end up with my own private paddling pool in my boots.

It’s even worse when I forget to put thicker socks on. My feet flop around in my slightly large welliebobs and the walk back up the hill after an hour walking up and down the beach gets more difficult every day. I’m sure they have a device to make the hill steeper when I’m on my way back home. Y’see, on the way out it’s a more gentle slope. On the way back it’s more like a mini Everest. That, dear reader is whenI trudge, trudge, trudge up the hill, tired and grumpy.

Roll on summer when I’ll be glad to be showered with cold water.

Still on the subject of dogs. I got a letter yesterday telling me that the guide dog I sponsor has been dropped from the guide dog programme because of his unpredictable spending habits. WHAT? Who the hell lets a dog go shopping anyway? It’s only ever going to end in disaster giving  a dog a credit card and freedom to use it as he wants. Mind you, if I gave Douggie a credit card he’d just eat it.

It’s rained here today. A lot.

As Douggie and I set off to the beach I realised with dismay that I’d timed it wrong and the tide was in. As I guessed, by the time we got to the seafront  the waves were crashing over the sea wall. Oh well. A walk to the harbour instead, I think. As I walked round the harbour I noticed through the pouring rain dripping off the end of my nose that someone had kindly put a note on all of the benches saying that the paint was wet. Well OF COURSE the paint was wet. It was pouring down! It didn’t take a genius to work that out but I did appreciate the fact that someone tried to help out the tourists by telling them. Heh.

Wherever you are, I hope you’re having better weather than we are having at the moment. Happy weekend!

8 thoughts on “Trudge trudge trudge”

    1. AS long as I raise a smirk or two then my work here is done haha. I don’t miss the weather ‘up north’ or as they say down here ‘up country’

  1. I’m familiar with the waterproof-trousers-and-wellies ensemble – I’ve been welded to my waterproofs and wellies all winter. I hope storm Imogen didn’t cause too much damage in your neck of the woods. I was woken in the middle of Sunday night by a bit of next door’s roof landing against the side of my house, and on Monday I was too knackered to take the dogs. My friend took them to the beach for me and he said there were 20ft waves. I was really sorry to have missed seeing that, it’s just not the same on the telly.

    1. OMG!! I hope no one got hurt. I think you and north Devon got it a lot worse than we did. It was mighty wild but not anywhere near as bad as other places. Ah well – soon be summer. We can ditch the sou’ wester and wellies then, eh?

Leave a Reply

